Mom Versus Career

Finding the balance between being a competent decision-maker, a desirable spouse, and a kick-ass mom.

345,600 Seconds August 22, 2011

Filed under: Career — MomVersusCareer @ 12:41 pm
Tags: , , ,

Have you ever noticed how long it takes for Friday to finally arrive? It takes four days to get from Monday to Friday. Broken down incrementally, that’s 96 hours or 5,760 minutes or 345,600 seconds.

At my current place of employment, there is a specific conversation that occurs every Friday morning without fail. It goes something like this:

Employee #1 enters elevator, smiles and says: “It’s finally Friday!”

Employee #2: “No kidding!”

Employee #1: “It’s been a really long week. I can’t wait to get home and _____ (fill in the blank).”

Employee #2: “Yeah, Monday just seemed to drag, didn’t it?”

Employee #1: “I know what you mean. Only eight more hours and we’re free!

As the elevator reaches its destination, Employee #2 says: “Thank goodness! Have a good weekend!”

This conversation has many variations, but you get the point. It fascinates me because without fail, it has always and will always take exactly four days or 96 hours or 5,760 minutes or 345,600 seconds to get from Monday to Friday. Unless it’s a leap year, then I think we have some justification in saying it’s been a “long week.”

Why do we think the week is longer than it actually is? Why do we eagerly anticipate Friday’s arrival at the end of the week?

Wouldn’t it be great if instead of waiting impatiently to punch the time clock at 5 p.m. on Fridays, we were disappointed to leave? What would that company look like? What kind of jobs would it offer? What kind of people would work there?

I’ll have to ponder that myself, but if I ever work at a company where I’m actually disappointed to leave at 5 p.m. on a Friday, I’ll stay there until I retire!

 

One Response to “345,600 Seconds”

  1. […] A friend of mine who actually reads my blog, not my mom (no offense, Mom ), sent this link to me today. It relates to my post about how long it takes to get to Friday. […]


Share your thoughts

