Mom Versus Career

Finding the balance between being a competent decision-maker, a desirable spouse, and a kick-ass mom.

Eye of the Tiger August 10, 2011

Filed under: Life,Paperback Writer — MomVersusCareer @ 7:30 am
Tags: , , , ,

My college professor, Dr. Hensley, is partially responsible for my love affair with literature and writing. (My grandmother contributed to my passion for writing, too. :)) Many students were introduced to his strict teaching style through his freshman English course. Dr. Hensley expected his students to be on time to a class that started at 7:45 a.m. three days a week. (I’m not sure why it was harder in college than it was in high school to get up for an early class. Maybe it’s because mom wasn’t there to make sure I got up in time. :))

He expected his students to try their best and never settled for less. If you happened to love English and literature, the class was relatively easy. If you paid attention in class and took good notes, you were likely to do well. The ultimate goal was to get what he called the ‘Eye of the Tiger’ or ‘EOTT.’

To achieve the EOTT, you had to receive three As in a row on consecutive tests. The first time a student achieved EOTT status, my professor presented that student with a cassette tape – yes, cassette tape – of Eye of the Tiger by Survivor, a small tiger that plays Eye of the Tiger when you press its belly, and ‘EOTT’ across the top of the third test. He chose Eye of the Tiger because of its message to try your best, to keep fighting, to ‘rise up to the challenge of your rival.’

This song has remained a theme song for me since I received my first EOTT from Dr. Hensley. This song is one of many on my EOTT Playlist, which includes songs that inspire and motivate me to chase my dreams, to fight mediocrity, to pursue excellence.

Below is my current EOTT Playlist. It’s a work in progress, so feel free to make suggestions! Do you have a theme song? What is it? What songs are on your inspirational/motivational playlist?

Erica’s EOTT Playlist
Don’t Stop Believing – Journey

Dog Days are Over – Florence & The Machine

Eye of the Tiger – Survivor

Unwritten – Natasha Bedingfield

Paperback Writer – The Beatles

Beautiful Day – U2

Your Love Lifted Me Higher – Audio Adrenaline

Let My Love Open the Door – Audio Adrenaline

Free Ride – Audio Adrenaline

God Will Lift Up Your Head – Jars of Clay

Walking on Sunshine – Katrina and the Waves

It’s My Life – Bon Jovi

Dare You to Move – Switchfoot

Taking Chances – Celine Dion

Don’t Stop – Fleetwood Mac

Raise Your Glass – Pink

Firework – Katy Perry

Light Up the World – Glee

 

Share your thoughts

