Mom Versus Career

Finding the balance between being a competent decision-maker, a desirable spouse, and a kick-ass mom.

Messed Up Mondays August 9, 2011

Filed under: Life — MomVersusCareer @ 8:49 am
Tags: , , ,

Apparently, I should no longer eat frozen pizza. This was the logical conclusion I came to after a pizza pan fell on my head Monday morning.

Maybe that conclusion isn’t as logical as I initially thought it was, but my head hurt at the time. I shouldn’t be held responsible for my thought process after being hit in the head by a vengeful pizza pan.

So, yeah. Monday morning kind of sucked for me. It’s not like that every Monday morning, but I think Mondays are messed up for four reasons:

1. Mondays are Manic
The Bangles got it right with their single, Manic Monday. Mondays are “the days when you wish your bed was already made” and that you were still sleeping in that bed.

2. Monday Work Greetings
Typically, on Monday mornings the first comment I hear is “Is it Friday, yet?” Why are we in such a rush to get through Monday, the first day of the work week? (See Reason 3)

3. The word ‘Monday’ literally means ‘moon day.’
If there is any truth to the theory that the phases of the moon can cause people to act differently or experience odd things during different phases, why would anyone willingly name a day ‘moon day?’ I want my Mondays to be free of odd occurrences, like falling pizza pans.

4. It’s the first day back to work after two days of not working. Enough said.

Here are a few suggestions to help you get through your Mondays:

1. Pretend there are two Tuesdays in each week.
It’s pretty simple. By pretending there are two Tuesdays in each week, you omit the Monday Blues, the curse of the ‘moon day,’ and have eliminated the stigma of Monday being the first day back to work after the weekend.

2. Delete ‘Manic Monday’ from your iTunes library.
If Monday no longer exists in your world, Manic Monday no longer exists. That was easy.

3. Plan extra-fun activities on the first Tuesday of each week, since there are now two Tuesdays, so you have something to look forward to.
Tuesdays should be fun! Now that you have two Tuesdays each week, it’s double the fun!

I think I may be on to something. This three-step program is copyrighted and pending patenting. 😀

 

Share your thoughts

