Mom Versus Career

Finding the balance between being a competent decision-maker, a desirable spouse, and a kick-ass mom.

Fork in the Road July 16, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — MomVersusCareer @ 6:03 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Being a mom and a wife with a demanding career in communications requires discipline, patience, and a sense of humor. That’s the easy part. The hard part is balancing the demands of each of the roles I currently fill while keeping my sanity and my figure, or what’s left of both.

Recently, I arrived at a fork in the road in regard to balancing these roles. My job is stressful and demands much of my attention and the use of most of my brain cells. Though I have only one child, I often feel regret for not being a stay-at-home mom. I am usually so drained by the end of the work day that I often choose watching TV over going outside, playing with Barbie dolls, or reading to my daughter, Lia. I feel like I’m cheating Lia out of the mom she deserves because I work a high-stress job. Add to that the stress of my husband working full-time and going to school full-time and you have the perfect combination of stress, guilt, frustration, and envy of my husband’s continuing education. Don’t get me wrong. I am fully supportive of my husband’s decision to pursue a degree, but I do envy the opportunity.

To add to the chaos, I am also finally starting to pursue my dream of being a writer. Why now? I’ve put it off long enough. This blog is the first step in pursuing my dream. It will also serve as a means of reflection and therapy to help me find balance in my daily life as a mom, a wife and a career woman. I am certain I’m not the only woman struggling with being the best she can be in all areas of her life. My only hope for this blog is to gain some clarity in my own life. If my journey helps others, then I’ll know I’ve done something right.

 

One Response to “Fork in the Road”

  1. Jenni Says:

    Your writing is wonderful! =) I am looking forward to reading more!


Share your thoughts

